Thibauld Mazire

May 23 to June 24, 2019
Raw Towers stand 22 alley 1 Paul Bert

Thibauld Mazire, born in 1970, graduated in 1991 from Métiers d'art (lacquer) at the Olivier de Serres National School of Applied Arts in Paris. He teaches at the National School of Applied Arts Olivier de Serres since 1999.
President of the association LAC (laceurs associated for creation), he participates in many exhibitions in Paris and in the provinces, as well as in Japan, where his work has been awarded with the prize "The Japan Paintmakers Association, Chairman Prize" on the occasion of the exhibition "The International Ishikawa Urushi Design Competition 96" in Kanasawa.
He also participated as a jury in the competition "Ishikawa International urushi design competition 2005" in Kanasawa, Japan, and was present on two sessions of MAC 2000 in 2007 and 2008.
Like many artists of his generation, Thibauld Mazire first took the path of abstraction, the alliance of a large gesture and a precise invoice, warm colors and shine from lacquer and metal. "Lyric abstraction", to borrow a formula that the painter George Mathieu applied to the large format paintings that caused a sensation in the sixties, this apogee of the Fifth Republic.
In recent years, Thibauld's research has taken a new direction, with a return to the figure, which can be landscape, architecture or human form. Through the technique of photographic transfer, the lacquerer brings the real into the imaginary, without there being any intention of realism.
The last series he delivers to our examination contribute to this inspiration. They offer, in a muted palette, landscapes of mountains, hills and seasides, milky or threatening skies, the storm is not far.
Landscapes dark and dreamy, sometimes animated by black silhouettes, and tending to abstraction: from dream to reality, what matters are subtle effects of light, which ceaselessly explore the resources of lacquer, its infinite possibilities.
Thibauld Mazire uses new generation so-called "water-soluble" varnishes available on the market. Close to acrylic, soluble in water, they are part of the concern to preserve the environment by a reduction of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) strongly limiting the use of heavy solvents. The "water-soluble" varnishes have the quality of being extremely translucent, non-yellowing, allowing a use of very light shade to pure white, not very traditional in lacquer.
The realization begins with the preparation of the support, a board of sanded wood or the masking of a paper replaces the traditional finishing, with in some cases an inkjet print of a photograph. The layers of varnish loaded with pigment and then glazes (varnishes tinted with translucent colors) bring by stratification the play of materials and transparency. Each sanded layer confers the quality of depth. The laying of metal sheet, silver or gold, brings a luminous sparkle. The finish is achieved by laying several layers of a varnish deliberately preserved satin.

Thibauld Mazire

Du 23 mai au 24 juin 2019
Tésors Bruts stand 22 allée 1 Paul Bert

Thibauld Mazire, né en 1970, est diplômé en 1991 des Métiers d’art (laque) de l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Appliqués Olivier de Serres à Paris. Il enseigne à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Appliqués Olivier de Serres depuis 1999.
Président de l’association LAC (laqueurs associés pour la création), il participe à de nombreuses expositions à Paris et en province, ainsi qu’au Japon, où son travail a été récompensé par le prix « The Japan Paintmakers Association, Chairman Prize » à l’occasion de l’exposition « The Ishikawa international urushi design competition 96 » (Concours international de laque d’Ishikawa 96) à Kanasawa.
Il a d’ailleurs participé comme jury au concours « The Ishikawa international urushi design competition 2005 » (Concours international de laque d’Ishikawa 2005) à Kanasawa au Japon et a été présent sur deux sessions de MAC 2000 en 2007 et 2008.
 
Comme beaucoup d’artistes de sa génération, Thibauld Mazire a d’abord emprunté la voie de l’abstraction, l’alliance d’un geste large et d’une facture précise, de couleurs chaudes et de brillances tirées de la laque et du métal. « Abstraction lyrique », pour emprunter une formule que le peintre George Mathieu appliquait aux toiles de grand format qui firent sensation dans les années soixante, cet apogée de la Ve République.
Depuis quelques années, la recherche de Thibauld prend une nouvelle direction, avec un retour à la figure, qui peut être paysage, architecture ou forme humaine. Par le biais de la technique du transfert photographique, le laqueur fait entrer le réel dans l’imaginaire, sans pour autant qu’il y ait chez lui une quelconque intention de réalisme.
Les dernières séries qu’il livre à notre examen participent de cette inspiration. Elles offrent, dans une palette assourdie, des paysages de montagnes, de collines et de bords de mer, des ciels laiteux ou menaçants dont l’orage n’est pas loin.
Paysages sombres et rêveurs, parfois animés de silhouettes noires, et qui tendent à l’abstraction : du rêve à la réalité, ce qui compte, ce sont de subtils effets de lumière, qui ne cessent d’explorer les ressources de la laque, ses infinies possibilités.
Thibauld Mazire utilise des vernis nouvelle génération dits « hydrosolubles » disponibles sur le marché. Proches de l’acrylique, solubles dans l’eau, ils s’inscrivent dans le souci de préserver l’environnement par une diminution des composés organiques volatils (COV) limitant fortement l’utilisation de solvants lourds. Les vernis « hydrosolubles » ont la qualité d’être extrêmement translucides, non jaunissants, permettant une utilisation de teinte très claire jusqu’au blanc pur, peu traditionnel dans la laque.
La réalisation commence par la préparation du support, une planche de bois poncé ou le marouflage d’un papier remplace l’apprêtage traditionnel, avec dans certains cas un tirage jet d’encre d’une photographie. Les couches de vernis chargés de pigment puis de glacis (vernis teintés de couleurs translucides) apportent par stratification les jeux de matières et de transparence. Chaque couche poncée confère la qualité de profondeur. La pose de feuille de métal, argent ou or, apporte un éclat lumineux. La finition est obtenue par la pose de plusieurs couches d’un vernis volontairement conservé satiné.