Remix Gallery presents "Claude Dumas, ABC's 80's"

FROM May 21 to August 08, 2021
Stands 91 & 234 aisle 6 Paul Bert

Founded in 2005 by Valérie Bouvier and Antoine Nouvet, REMIX GALLERY is a pioneer in the promotion of French design of the 80s. They present and defend the work of the biggest names in French design of this period, such as Philippe Starck, Andrée Putman, Christian Duc as well as the ceramist and plastic artist Claude Dumas, to whom they are dedicating, in May 2021, a personal exhibition on his production of objects from the 1980s.

The exhibition "Claude Dumas - ABÉCÉDAIRE Years 80" is an opportunity to rediscover the first creations of this artist.

Claude Dumas, after training as a ceramist in Augusto Tozzola's studio and studying at the Beaux-Arts in Paris, in 1983 founded his design creation company where he produced vases and decorative art objects. Also known for his various collaborations with artists such as Georges Jeanclos and Giuseppe Penone, in 2002 he created the sculpture-ceramic section of the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris, which he directs and within which he teaches.

Claude Dumas' objects are part of a formal alphabet where each piece evokes a letter and a historical period: the N vase stands hieratically like a high relief from ancient Egypt; the Z vase, a cubist object, is an assembly of Medici and Alberello vases from the Italian Renaissance. The shapes are architectural, the object is ergonomic. The angles are soft, the curves precise. Its mat enamelling is its signature.

Claude Dumas has, for the occasion, produced in collaboration with Remix Gallery, an original limited series of fifty ceramic objects from original molds and prototypes of the time. An event which is accompanied by the publication of a monographic catalog of his work. The first of a collection called: "the just line", coming to Remix gallery.

Remix Gallery présente "Claude Dumas, Abécédaire années 80"

DU 21 mai au 08 aout 2021
Stands 91 & 234 allée 6 Paul Bert

Fondée en 2005 par Valérie Bouvier et Antoine Nouvet, REMIX GALLERY est pionnière dans la valorisation du design Français des années 80. Ils présentent et défendent le travail des plus grands noms du design français de cette période, comme Philippe Starck, Andrée Putman, Christian Duc ainsi que le céramiste et plasticien Claude Dumas, auquel ils consacrent, en mai 2021, une exposition personnelle sur sa production d’objets des années 80.

L’exposition « Claude Dumas - ABÉCÉDAIRE années 80 » est l’occasion de redécouvrir les premières créations de cet artiste.

Claude Dumas, après une formation de céramiste au sein de l’atelier d’Augusto Tozzola et des études aux Beaux-Arts de Paris, fonde en 1983 sa société de création de design où il produit des vases et des objets d’art décoratif. Également connu pour ses diverses collaborations avec des artistes comme Georges Jeanclos et Giuseppe Penone, il crée en 2002 la section sculpture-céramique de l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris, qu’il dirige et au sein de laquelle il enseigne.

Les objets de Claude Dumas s’inscrivent dans un abécédaire formel où chacune des pièces évoque une lettre et une période historique : le vase N se tient hiératiquement comme un haut-relief de l’Egypte antique ; le vase Z, objet cubiste, est un assemblage de vases Medicis et Alberello de la renaissance Italienne. Les formes sont architecturales, l’objet est ergonomique. Les angles sont doux, les courbes précises. Son émaillage mat est sa signature.

Claude Dumas a, pour l’occasion, produit en collaboration avec Remix Gallery, une série limitée inédite d’une cinquantaine d’objets en céramique à partir des moules et prototypes originaux de l’époque. Un évènement qui s’accompagne de l’édition d’un catalogue monographique de son travail. Le premier d’une collection nommée : « la ligne juste », à venir chez Remix gallery.