1970 'Pair of French Style Adam Weisweiler Gueridons Signed JANSEN

ABC Pascal

Description

Pair of gilt bronze pedestal tables with peach-colored veined and crystalline onyx top, is supported by three pairs of gilt bronze faux bamboo feet, joined by a triangular spacer with curved sides
the lower spacer receives another small pedestal table surmounted by a scalloped rim with an openwork gallery.
We can see the mark JANSEN and JD 31
At the end of the 19th century, such high-quality furniture was, among others, produced by Maison Jansen. The family business from Amsterdam specializes in decorative interior pieces, inspired by or having all the characteristics of a piece of furniture by Adam Weisweiler (1744-1820) but were produced around 1970.
The furniture of Maison Jansen is characterized by its superior quality and found its way to the royal palaces and the White House during the tenure of John F. Kennedy. The stylistic features that go to the furniture of Maison Jansen are naturalistic elements, such as leaf and bamboo patterns, and the furniture often has a slender and light construction, while using heavy materials such as gilded bronze, brass, polished steel and marble.

Adam Weisweiler was born in Germany where he is said to have studied under David Roentgen (1743-1807), after which he moved to Paris where he became a master cabinetmaker in 1778. He mainly collaborated with the Marchands-merciers, as they could also provide them with oriental pieces and other luxury pieces, such as Japanese lacquer panels. Subsequently, he could sell his furniture through them to the French and English courts. Queen Marie Antoinette had a writing from Weisweiler at Saint Cloud Castle, and George the Prince of Wales ordered several pieces of furniture for Carlton House in the 1780s.

Weisweiler's work is characterized by the combination of a multitude of luxury materials, such as gilded bronze, polished steel, Japanese lacquer, plates of Sèvres porcelain and marble. In addition, a degree of detail in all parts of the furniture is typical of his work. Weisweiler worked at a time when exoticism was a rage in Europe, and this is clearly reflected in his work. It is manifested in the lacquer panels, which can be both of Eastern and European origin, as well as in the bamboo pattern that frequently appears in his furniture.
Diameter: 49 cm
Height: 66 cm

Condition Good condition
Dimensions
Height66 cm
Diameter 49 cm
45000 €

Contact ABC Pascal

ABC Pascal
Pascal Weitz
Marché Paul Bert
allée 2 Stands 4 et 11 et 14 , Serpette - allée 1 stands 63 et 140 Paul Bert
 +33(0)6 60 64 77 09

Other objects from this antique dealer

ABC Pascal's catalog

You may also like

See all suggestions

1970 ‘Paire de Guéridons Français Style Adam Weisweiler Signé JANSEN

ABC Pascal

Description

Paire de guéridons en bronze doré à plateau en onyx veiné et cristallin couleur pêche, est soutenu par trois paires de pieds en faux bambou Bronze doré, réunis par une entretoise triangulaire aux côtés incurvés
l’entretoise inférieure reçoit un autre petit guéridon surmonté d’un rebord festonné à galerie ajourée.
On peut voir la marque JANSEN et JD 31
A la fin du 19ème siècle, de tels meubles de grande qualité étaient, entre autres, produits par la Maison Jansen. L’entreprise familiale originaire d’Amsterdam se spécialisait dans les pièces d’intérieur décoratives, inspirées ou présentent toutes les caractéristiques d’un meuble d’Adam Weisweiler (1744-1820) mais ont été fabriqués vers 1970.
Les meubles de la Maison Jansen se caractérisent par leur qualité supérieure et ont trouvé leur chemin vers les palais royaux et la Maison Blanche à l’époque du mandat de John F. Kennedy. Les caractéristiques de style qui reviennent aux meubles de la Maison Jansen sont des éléments naturalistes, tels que des motifs de feuilles et de bambou, et les meubles ont souvent une construction élancée et légère, tout en utilisant des matériaux lourds tels que le bronze doré, le laiton, l’acier poli et le marbre.

Adam Weisweiler est né en Allemagne où il aurait étudié sous David Roentgen (1743-1807), après quoi il a déménagé à Paris où il est devenu maître-ébéniste en 1778. Il a principalement collaboré avec les Marchands-merciers, car ils pouvaient également leur fournir des pièces orientales et autres pièces de luxe, telles que les panneaux de laque japonaise. Par la suite, il pouvait vendre ses meubles par leur intermédiaire aux tribunaux français et anglais. La reine Marie-Antoinette avait un écrit de Weisweiler au château de Saint Cloud, et George le prince de Galles commanda plusieurs meubles pour Carlton House dans les années 1780.

L’œuvre de Weisweiler se caractérise par la combinaison d’une multitude de matériaux de luxe, tels que le bronze doré, l’acier poli, la laque japonaise, les plaques de porcelaine de Sèvres et de marbre. De plus, un degré de détail dans toutes les parties du meuble est typique de son travail. Weisweiler a travaillé à une époque où l’exotisme était une véritable rage en Europe, et cela se reflète clairement dans son travail. Elle se manifeste dans les panneaux de laque, qui peuvent être à la fois d’origine orientale et européenne, ainsi que dans le motif en bambou qui apparaît fréquemment dans ses meubles.
Diamètre: 49 cm
Hauteur : 66 cm

Etat de l'objet Bon état
Dimensions
Hauteur66 cm
Diamètre 49 cm
45000 €

Contacter ABC Pascal

ABC Pascal
Pascal Weitz
Marché Paul Bert
allée 2 Stands 4 et 11 et 14 , Serpette - allée 1 stands 63 et 140 Paul Bert
 +33(0)6 60 64 77 09

Autres objets de cet antiquaire

Catalogue d'ABC Pascal

Vous aimerez aussi

Voir toutes les suggestions